Tripartite Agreement Pakistan

with No Comments

Monday`s agreement, signed between Afghanistan, Iran and UNHCR, builds on last year`s agreement establishing a joint programme to facilitate the voluntary repatriation of Afghan refugees living in Iran. “This is a two-year agreement in which Iran commits to respect the rights to voluntary repatriation,” Verney said. The Delhi Agreement was a trilateral agreement signed on 28 August 1973 between India, Pakistan and Bangladesh. and has been ratified only by India and Pakistan. [1] It allowed the repatriation of prisoners of war and interned officials detained in the three countries after the Bangladesh Liberation War in 1971. 108,744 non-Bengali civilians and civil servants were transferred from Bangladesh to Pakistan. [4] India released 6500 Pakistani prisoners, most of them transported by train to Pakistan. [5] In 1974, General Niazi was the last Pakistani officer to be symbolically returned across the Wagah border. [4] It is particularly important that the document highlights the voluntary nature of repatriation and grants UNHCR free access to refugees, both in Iran and upon their return to Afghanistan. In accordance with the agreement, UNRWA will continue to provide refugees with medical assistance and transportation from voluntary repatriation centres (CRVs) in Iran. Although the agreement required the repatriation of Urdu-speaking Biharis to Bangladesh, the Pakistani Government withdrew its promise to establish the Community in Pakistan. [6] This is where the stranded stateless Pakistani community in Bangladesh was born.